VIRGINIA 

FIREARM PURCHASE REQUIREMENTS

​Purchasing a Firearm - Virginia Residents

  • Prospective purchasers of firearms must present a valid photo-ID form issued by a governmental agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia that denotes the individual’s name, sex, and date of birth. Where the primary form is a photo-ID issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), 30 days must have passed since the original date of issue or duplicate driver's license unless a copy of his/her DMV driver's record is presented showing that the original date of issue was more than 30 days prior to the attempted purchase.


Purchasing a Firearm - Non-VA-Residents 

  • Rifles and shotguns may be purchased from licensed firearms dealers by persons who are residents of other states upon the presentation of one photo-identification form issued by a governmental agency of the purchaser's state of residence and one other form of identification determined to be acceptable by the Department of Criminal Justice Services
    • The following secondary forms of ID are acceptable:
      • A current lease.
      • Evidence of currently paid personal property tax or real estate tax.
      • A current utility or telephone bill.
      • A current voter registration card.
      • A current bank check.
      • A current passport (must include an address).
      • A current automobile registration.
      • A current hunting or fishing license


Legal Age to Purchase or Possess a Firearm?

  • A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun from a licensed firearms dealer. To purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer, you must be at least 21 years of age, pursuant to federal law.


Legal Age to Purchase or Possess Ammunition?

  • Virginia law does not address age requirements for the purchase of ammunition. Federal law requires an individual to be at least 21 years of age to purchase handgun ammunition, and at least 18 years old to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition​​


What are the laws concerning the private sale of a handgun? 

  • To privately sell a firearm, it is recommended that you safeguard information pertaining to the transaction such as the date the firearm was sold, the complete name and address of the buyer, and the make, model, and serial number of the firearm. The seller and buyer of a handgun must be a resident of the state in which the transfer occurs.  Should the firearm ever be located at a crime scene, trace of the firearm will determine the licensed dealer who last sold the firearm and will identify the last buyer of the firearm. To have your name removed from this process, you may consider placing your firearm on consignment with a licensed dealer. This will also ensure that the firearm is transferred only to a lawfully eligible individual.


​Is a concealed handgun permit issued in another state valid or recognized in Virginia?

  • States with which Virginia has entered into concealed handgun permit reciprocity agreements, or which Virginia will grant recognition, are listed on the states Reciprocity and Recognition page.


Military Personnel? 

  • Active military personnel, 21 years of age and older, assigned to a Virginia duty post or the Pentagon may apply for a Virginia resident permit, which are issued by the circuit court of the county or city in which the applicant resides. Virginia Code Section 18.2-308.02 (B.5.) authorizes current military service to be considered proof that the applicant has demonstrated competence with a handgun.
    • Active military personnel permanently stationed in Virginia, including the Pentagon, are treated as Virginia residents for the purchase of a handgun.
      • Identification and residency are established by the following:
        • a military photo ID issued by the United State Department of Defense
          proof that Virginia is the permanent duty station via current military assignment orders

        • If permanently assigned to a mobile unit in Virginia, and the homeport is listed as Virginia; the transaction may be processed as a Virginia resident the same as any other permanent military assignment to Virginia supported by military assignment orders. The individual is treated as a non-Virginia resident if the homeport is listed as any place other than Virginia.

Virginia State Police Links:

DO NOT BRING LOADED GUNS IN THE BUILDING